• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Four Months after a Total Knee Replacement

Four months later, my knee is still swollen and the flexibility still needs improved.  It can be depressing, but there is no joint pain like prior to my surgery.  I can walk without pain and do not need to carry around crutches like I did prior to my total knee replacement.

When someone (friend) asks me how my knee is, I reply “It’s getting there.”  What else can I say?  It’s a long process. Am I wrong to think that replying “oh, I’m working on going downstairs, I can go upstairs, I still need to work on flexibility, I have no pain in my hamstring, etc,” is not interesting to others?

I’ve learned to reply this way since I’ve heard “suck it up” so many times throughout my life.  I don’t need to hear that when the pain is so intense, it’s depressing.  That includes a week after having the major surgery. Who needs that?

FYI: I started going downstairs without using the railings, but it is still slow.  Going upstairs is easy, though.  Nice.  Stairs are not easy to do during the recuperation process.

One Response

  1. I am going to reply to this post since I am at 4 months on the 18th…….I can not do stairs without the railing, I’m too unstable right now. Going up is definitely easier than going down.

    When I go somewhere that I have to sit for an hour or more, I take a shoe box with me for a foot rest, because I am short, my legs are short, and my feet rarely touch the floor let alone sit flat on the floor, so the shoe box helps take the “hanging” pressure off my thigh….but last Wed. when I had the 5 hour meeting, I forgot my shoe box! I sat at the end of the table and propped my foot on the support brace on the folding table….it was NOT the same, hence the intense swelling in my leg for days now.

    Last night, I wrapped my leg from ankle to thigh in my ace bandage and put ice on my outer knee, and this morning the swelling is gone and pain has subsided, although, all I’ve done this morning is sit here with computer in my lap!

    Yes, people are constantly asking how it’s going, and I try to say the same thing, it’s better than last week but not there yet! Everyone at work comments on my gimpy-ness (is that a word?) in the morning, b/c it’s always stiff early in the day and my gait reflects that. I try very hard NOT to limp, but sometimes can’t be helped.

    I still have trouble at night when I try to turn over and lift the tkr leg over the other one…..and I have so many pillows in bed I look like I’m sleeping with Snuffleupagus….lol.

    It’s going to be a nice day, the sun is finally peeking out and my garage is in dire need of a spring cleaning and organizing……oh no!!!!

    Debi

Leave a Reply

