• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Love Of Writing

While working on my book, and doing other writing gigs, I just realized something that is needed in order to accomplish any writing task.  That need is the enjoyment of writing.  One seems to hear from a variety of sources that “follow your heart and money will follow”.  Well, money may not be here yet, but the enjoyment is sure there.  That’s a good writing tip…have the passion.

There’s something fun about using words properly, organizing them, and thinking about their impact.  It’ even more fun when “the mood” strikes and the words just flow.  That’s known as inspiration.  Those times are great, but they are counterattacks to the times when words don’t flow.  Those times exist, also.

Writing rocks.  🙂

4 Responses

  1. Hi, Booktoots,

    I know what you mean about passion for writing. I wrote in my last newsletter about how difficult good writing is to do. And then I said, “But it’s also gratifying work, and I love doing it.”

    It’s obvious that non-writers have no idea of the difficulty associated with quality writing. Only we as writers know that. I guess it comparable to my wife telling me how much pain is associated with giving birth. I’ll never know; all I can do is take her word for it.

    It’s also apparent that non-writers have little regard for good writing. I suppose that’s because the best writers make reading such a pleasure that readers don’t have to work much to understand it. I know. That’s how I viewed writing before I started doing it.

    Nice to meet you.

    Mikey

  2. Thanks for your feedback, Mikey. And, thanks for reading my blog – that’s cool.

    Non-writers do not have much regard for good writing, I agree. Good writing is taken for granted until one does not have any around.

    And…on the Internet writers are insulted even further. Writing is becoming very devalued. For instance, “free writing gigs” are rampant. Or, less than a penny a word is common.

    Good luck to you!

  3. Hey, again,

    I remember on my 26th birthday, my wife and I were having dinner at my parents house. I made the comment that someday I’d like to write a book.

    My dad said, and I’ll never forget it, “Son, anyone can write a book.” In the many years since then, I know for a fact that not just anybody can write a book–or an article, a short story, a press release, a case study, and on and on. Perhaps they could write about Dick and Jane: See Dick run. See Jane jump.

    In fact, many people have trouble stringing words together to form a simple, coherent sentence, let alone write a book-length manuscript.

    So, according to my dad, why isn’t anybody writing a book? Because writing is a difficult task that not everyone can do. For those who say, “Someday I’m going to write a book.” –then do it or shut up.

    I never hear anyone say, “Someday I’m going to build a spaceship and fly to the moon,” or, “Someday I’m going to build a submarine and travel to the ocean floor.” So why do they say, “Some day I’m going to write a book”?

    Writing is hard work, and it always will be. Most of us who write do so because we love the challenge of writing words that flow, that have a musical sound to them, that make people back-up and re-read a passage simply because the beautiful flow of words impacted them in some way.

    That’s why we write, to impact the reader in some way that causes a change in the way someone thinks, reasons, behaves, sees things from a different perspective.

    I better get off my soapbox, or I’ll sit here and write all night.

    MIkey

  4. Hi Mikey,
    Thanks again for your comment, I enjoyed reading it. It’s obvious you love to write since it comes across so clearly. 🙂
    It’s nice to hear from someone who loves writing as much as i do. 🙂
    As Red Green would say…”Keep your stick on the ice!” lol

Leave a Reply

