• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • July 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Attending an Air Show after a Total Knee Replacement

OK, I may be stretching it here, but….here is some advice I can give about enjoying an air show while recuperating from a total knee replacement.  It’s been 5.5 months since my tkr, but my knee is still swollen and I am still working on regaining my flexibility.

  • Air shows are a great way to get some good walking exercise in while recuperating from a tkr. Or, they are good walking for anyone, period. 🙂  Air shows ROCK!
  • There is going to be a lot of walking. Some airfields are larger than others, so it depends.  If possible, walk on the pavement for best traction.  And, taxiways are usually quite smooth.  This is great for not being that concerned about your footing.
  • Watch out for large rocks.  These can cause havoc with your balance, which is probably already “iffy” .
  • Be careful of dirt and sudden “dips” while walking or standing.
  • Solid walking shoes.  This is very common sense.  However, after people watching, it’s amazing to me the types of shoes people meander about in.  I swear by my plain and simple, comfortable shoes.
  • Watch out for people walking without watching where they’re walking.  They’re everywhere. 🙂
  • If possible, park in the handicapped area.  It usually is in the front of the parking lot.  The drawback to this, however, is the fact that once the event is over….there is a LONG WAIT to depart the premises.
  • I found it helps me to get a sturdy, well balanced stance whenever the air show has my neck and head looking straight up.  (You know…sometimes planes reach high altitude..:) )
  • Enjoy the luxury of walking.
  • Feel your leg muscles work and be grateful they do.
  • And….enjoy the show!

I happened to have the priviledge of watching the USAF Thunderbirds.  Their red, white, and blue planes are spectacular to see.  What a great show!!

Leave a Reply

