• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • August 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

TKR Update

Here is what I view as an exciting happening regarding the condition of my knee that I figured was good enough to share:

It has been six and one half months since my total knee replacement and earlier this week I noticed I could see an outline of my knee. It’s finally starting to look like a ‘regular’ knee. 🙂 There is no swelling on the lower portion of my knee area, and minimal on the outer portion. Still, the upper portion has swelling (more noticeable after exercising).

I believe that the exercise bike, walking, and going down stairs are the main reasons for this advancement. That’s my theory, anyways.

It’s the small things in life that matter. 🙂

8 Responses

  1. Hi
    I found your blog because I was looking for info on recuperation after a TKR. I am three weeks out..just about.

    I am doing lots of exercise, but still in need of lots of rest. I find I get rather depressed at not being able to go, go. go the way I’m used to. I know one can’t give up, and I won’t..but just wondered if you went through the same feelings.

    I am doing stairs without too much trouble, and do find, like you, that it’s helpful.

    One thing…I have a lot of numbness on the outer side of my knee. Did you have this? If so, does it subside after a bit? I’m so hoping it does.

    Thanks.

    Susan M.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Susan. You’re doing great for only be three weeks out of surgery!
    Yes, depression was common for me the first three weeks after my surgery. Now, it’s mainly frustration…and I’m 7 months post tkr.
    There is numbness on the outer side of my knee. Unfortunately, it has not subsided. Oh well.
    Keep up the good work!

  3. Good to hear. I am also just 3 weeks out and can’t feel my knee cap and it doesn’t look like my other knee. Helps me to know, time and continuous exercise will help.

  4. Hi Tom,
    As I write this, I am almost 11 months after my tkr and it’s still swollen. Good luck!

  5. I am one year from first tka and 9months from second opposite tka and my knees are great. No clicking on the first now and a little clicking on the second. My family is going on a ski trip next weekend….the anniversary of my first knee and I am contemplating some cross country skiing. It is just great to be able to walk again; take my daughter shopping, clean the house….all those weight bearing activities that were so painful in the past.

  6. Thanks for your positive feedback, Nancy. It’s inspiring.
    Cross country skiing sounds like fun. 🙂
    Good luck and keep in touch!

  7. Okay, I’m going to reply here, because this is where I am in my recuperation………it will be 7 months on the 18th……..so, I’m not there yet….

    Today, I am putting my knee and my whole body to the test! I am driving 2 hours to my hometown for a “Celebration of Heroes” featuring Captain Chesley B Sullenberger, who grew up and graduated in my hometown, just 2 years ahead of me. There is a parade and an hour long outdoor ceremony, and the predicted temp today is lower 90’s…..so, lots of walking, standing, and hopefully sitting (we are taking folding lawn chairs)…..

    My mom is going with me, she is 73 and had arthroscopic scraping on her knee about 6 weeks ago……

    I am taking my camera for lots of pics, and also a band concert program from 1966 that shows my name in the 7th grade band and Sully’s in the 9th grade band, and HOPE I can get close enough to have him sign it for me!!!

    Wish me luck, keeping up with the crowd (I dislike crowds!)…I’ll come back and give you a report later….

    Debi

    • Woohoo…..I got Captain Sully to sign my concert program and I got some wonderful pictures….I think….I just got home and am about to upload them……

      It was a really nice ceremony and parade….had a good time….

Leave a Reply

