• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Go Karting & TKR Recuperation

During the Labor Day weekend, there was an opportunity to partake in what is known to be a fun activity. That fun activity is go karting Well, when presented with the offer, I took it on and viewed it as an experiment.

My experiment consisted of a variety of questions that needed answered. They were:

  • Will my tkr knee be flexible enough to ride in a go kart?

  • Will I be able to get in and out of the vehicle without any concern?

  • Will I be able to ride comfortably in one?

  • And, finally…..

  • What will the experience be like?

The go kart course was on a friend’s property, so only a portion of the course was paved. The rest of it was on the grass – very small hills, and flat surfaces. I’ve been go karting prior to my total knee replacement, but it was on a go kart race course…totally paved. That was great and a total blast!

Findings? Mixed emotions. To answer the above questions:

  • My knee was flexible enough to ride in a go kart. There was no pain at all. Nice. 🙂

  • Getting in and out of the go kart was much easier than I had imagined. I just took my time.

  • Riding in the go kart, for the most part, was comfortable. The braking started to take a toll, but that was only near the end of my ride. (The brake was using my bionic knee leg – left one).

I believe the ride would have been more fun on a totally paved, flat surface. The many tight turns on the grass hills (very minor) was rather unnerving at times. I kept picturing the go kart as tipping over.

  • Overall, the experience was fun. My ride was only about 5-10 minutes. I wasn’t up to going on the longer route, since my knee was telling me to stop after that time period. I was content taking the “beginner” course to basically get used to the go kart. That was enough for me.

What was strange to me is the fact that I got rather dizzy after it was done. It wasn’t like I was zipping along, either. I think I was going about 2 MPH. 🙂 Never let it be said I’m not a daredevil.

At the end of this experiment, I was pooped. My knee did swell up a little, but.it was no big deal. BTW: In four days it’ll be 7 months since my total knee replacement surgery was done.

Results: I’ll wait awhile to do it again.

Leave a Reply

