• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Off the Subject

This blog post has nothing to do with a total knee replacement, car accident, book writing, or writing in general.  It has to do with Hurricane Ike.

I have been watching live Houston coverage of the hurricane since it was approaching the Galveston area.  In fact, the hurricane was 5 miles from land when I first started watching.  Now, it is daylight and downtown Houston received the category 1 hurricane.  The damage is immense.

My heart and soul goes out to that area of our country.  I lived through Hurricane Andrew (down on the Florida gulf coast) and hurricanes are frightening.  Weather-wise, they are fascinating.  The destruction they leave behind is anything but.

One Response

  1. Hi, Booktoots,

    I know what you mean. In 1982, my wife and I lived in an apartment complex in Marion, Illinois. I had just re-entered the Air Force in early April and moved the last week of the month.

    On Memorial Day weekend, we drove back to spend the weekend with our folks in West Frankfort. We were sitting in my parents’ living room when a “national” news update told of a tornado that had just blasted its way through Marion.

    The scene as displayed on TV showed total devastation of our former complex. Our original plan was for me to attend tech school, and my wife would join me when it was time to move to Idaho. At the last minute I decided I wanted her with me at school. I’m glad I changed my mind. We would surely have lost all of our possessions and possibly Donna’s life. We were fortunate, to say the least.

    Through all the rubble on TV I could see where our apartment had stood. Ten of our neighbors died that day. It’s difficult to comprehend what nature can do until it happens to you. Granted, it was a full month after we moved out, but, even so, we knew those ten people. It was hard to believe they were gone–in, literally, a heartbeat.

    Well, I wanted you to know that you’re not alone in thinking of and praying for the people of that region of Texas.

    Mikey

Leave a Reply

