• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Balance Issues & A Total Knee Replacement

Something strange and perplexing has been happening lately. There will be times when I move and suddenly lose my balance. It is not extreme, only a simply side step. To someone who didn’t know any better, it might appear as if I had been drinking too much alcohol.

I don’t understand why it’s happening, either. It’s been 7 months, 1 week since my total knee replacement surgery.

3 Responses

  1. It has been six and a half months since my total knee replacement and I am still walking with a cane and I suddenly lose my balance too. It is extremely scary. Last weekend I noticed my lower leg was swollen again. I am on Warfarin because three weeks after my surgery I developed a blood clot in the knee that had the replacement. Have been wearing elastic stockings but was able to discard them a month ago. Now I am back wearing the hose and the knee is hot, swollen and extremely painful. Called my physician and was told to elevate leg and put ice on it. That did not help much. If I did not have Percocet to take I don’t know how I would be able to get through the pain.

  2. Thanks for your comment, N. Losing balance is a strange feeling, isn’t it? I’ve also sent you a personal email.

    I don’t know what to suggest about your tkr recuperation. You are having difficulties I luckily have not experienced. I give you a lot of credit for being so strong about them.

    I find that being a “couch potato” works well. I may come across as a lazy bum, but I don’t care. After doing nothing but elevating my leg on a pillow, icing, and not walking much – my tkr knee seems to get better.

    You’re also lucky Percocet works for you. It didn’t for me.

    Best of luck to you! Things’ll get better.

  3. I am trying to read your posts that coincide with my own recovery, which is now 7 months post op……

    I think my loss of balance at times, stems from a little inner ear disturbance which I have always had, just a minor inconvenience most of the time, and from the stiffness in my quads when I go from sitting to standing……I’m like a “weeble”……remember those? Weebles wobble, but they don’t fall down…..

    I’m also having more swelling and pain than I was about 2 months ago, and I don’t know if it’s the hot weather or my increased physical activity. I am working a full 40 hour week now, and rarely take a lunch break anymore, as I prefer to work 6-2 and get home early, especially in the summer so I can swim.

    I have NOT been on my exercise bike in a very long time, but I am climbing steps on the new deck and working my leg in the pool, so, hoping that offsets the non biking.

    Deck has 2 steps to lower level, 4 more to upper, then 4 down into the water…….I swim twice a day if possible. But I’m up and down on the deck several times….it’s my new favorite place…..gotta love summer!

Leave a Reply

