• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

My Small Tribute to Paul Newman

Yesterday I turned on the television only to be greeted by news that left me crying and staring at the screen. Paul Newman had died.

Even though I never met him, his death has taken a chunk of my heart away. Our world is much sadder and emptier without him. His modesty, humor, compassion, and unparalleled ethics are something we can all learn from.

Paul Newman could have easily gotten by on just his looks, but he didn’t. He mastered his craft and whatever other endeavor he chose. He could have easily been boastful and arrogant, but he wasn’t. Instead, he used his intelligence and human insight to help others and do the best he could with what he had.

My personal story involves seeing him at Daytona International Speedway during a historic car race. I wasn’t expecting to see him at this event. I had heard that he could be there. So here’s what happened:

The day started out pouring rain. Usually my camera was out and ready for anything, but at this moment I had put it in its carrying case to keep it dry. As I made my way into the race track, everyone and everything was drenched. It didn’t seem to matter, though. That’s the allure of Daytona. Plus, it was that time of year in Florida. 🙂 Anyways, I’m just checking out the cars and simply looking around.

Suddenly, BOOM! Paul Newman walks right in front of me! He wasn’t five feet from me. Well…I scramble to pull my camera out of its bag faster than I had moved in awhile. When I finally got a hold of my camera, all I could get was a picture of his backside just walking away down the stretch. Still, I knew it was Paul Newman. I didn’t care if anyone else looking at the picture could tell it or not.

Of course, the media was surrounding him no matter where he went. He was asked for autographs by fans, but did not give any. He simply said that he was on vacation. While others may not have liked this, I admired it.

Finally, the rain let up and the drivers were getting into their cars. There was a crowd of people around this one car, so I scooted closer. I asked the person next to me what was going on. “THAT’S PAUL NEWMAN!” is what I heard. “Cool,” I said in return. My camera was ready, as were all the cameras nearby. 🙂 (We were standing in what is known as the cold pit area, about 20-30 feet from the cars.)

Paul Newman saw the crowd and turned his back to us. He obviously was uncomfortable with all the hoopla. People slowly started to leave, disappointed that he was not getting into the car nor acknowledging them. When one of the last people left, I asked them why they were leaving. “He’s not going to turn around. He’s taking too long,” I heard. “He’s gotta turn around to get into the car, give him time,” I replied as the person was walking away.

As this person left, I moved towards the front. I was in the front viewing area! So, in just a few minutes, Mr. Newman turned around and got into his car. When he was settled in, I got the picture of my life. He looked directly at me. 🙂 (At least I can believe he was looking at me and not in disdain at my camera.)

Just the thrill of seeing Paul Newman in real life was enough for me. I got a chance to walk the same grounds as someone who I had admired my entire life. He is a true American and worldwide legend. He had scruples, undying devotion, and immense class that I could only hope to have. His sense of humor shined through, along with his captivating blue eyes. And now he’s gone.

I am grateful and feel very blessed for the opportunity to have experienced his living legend. My heart and sympathy goes out to everyone who knew him personally.

Saddened does not adequately describe how I feel at the death of Paul Newman – our beloved Paul Newman.

Leave a Reply

