• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Sarah Palin to Drop Puck at Hockey Game

When I first read this headline, I thought “Is this serious?”. My initial reaction was that of someone’s attempt at a joke. After all….WHY???!!! and…other thoughts I will not print here to save my reputation (of which I hope I have one).

Today on NHL Live!,  EJ Hradek and Don LaGreca discussed this issue when a fan called in regarding this event (for lack of a better word). The fan was ticked off about it. Their opinion seemed to mirror
mine…it is not a good idea.

Sports are intended to be an escape from the dealings of everyday reality. They are intended to bring people together or to foster a friendly rivalry. As much as one sports fan may hate the opposing team, they are still all sports fans and enjoy the camaraderie involved. There is a wonderful feeling surrounding sporting events. It’s fun, plain and simple.

Once entering a stadium, arena, or any other sports venue – everyone is there for just the enjoyment of it. That’s what buying a ticket provides.  That’s also why fans watch games on tv – for the pure enjoyment and excitement of it!

And, now, Philadelphia Flyers fans (and anybody else watching the game) have to be reminded about a Vice Presidential candidate whom they may or may not like, the absurdity of our country’s financial situation,
the politics ruled by the fat cats who are out of touch with reality, the losing of personal finances, and the political environment in general. IT IS NOT THE CORRECT THING TO DO!

The article I read (on FoxNews.com) stated that Sarah Palin’s claiming to be a “hockey mom” was bringing more publicity to the sport of hockey. What type of publicity, is my question. Palin’s statement was having a “positive effect” on hockey – claimed the Philadelphia Flyers’ management.

Now, if that’s not a matter of opinion, I don’t know what is. Personally, I think the Flyers’ management needs to have their medication increased.

I will be watching the game on television and only hope that the fans attending it will boo Sarah Palin so loudly that the hockey world will not pull this stunt again.

I’m off my soap box now.

8 Responses

  1. I’m a huge democrat and I don’t have a problem with Palin dropping the puck. I have to agree that she’s gonna get booed like crazy. She’ll think twice, i don’t know why she’s doing it in pennsylvania, makes more sense for her to drop the puck at a stars game. then again she is stupid right?

  2. […] Posted in hockey Tagged: Don LaGreca, dropping the puck, EJ Hradek, Flyers, Fox News, FoxNews.com, hockey fans, hockey games, hockey mom, hockey world, ice hockey, NHL Live, Philadelphia Flyers, politics, puck, Sarah Palin , sources, …[Continue Reading] […]

  3. I just don’t agree with politics being brought into a hockey game.

    I don’t agree with the President of the U.S. throwing out the first pitch at the MLB’s opening game, either.

  4. I think she’ll get booed. It’s just Philly. I found this interesting article from Politico on Palin. http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1008/14462.html

  5. i hope she falls on the ice.. lmao… I hope they boo the her off the ice and make the ice shake.. i am a huge hockey fan.. GO RANGERS! and Im tempted to not watch because of her.. its disgusting.. not only because I don’t like her.. but because she shouldn’t have anything to do with the NHL. SHE IS NOT A HOCKEY MOM! SHE’S NEVER EVEN WITH HER KIDS! my mom is a real hockey mom. she woke me and my brother up at 5 AM to take us to practice twice a week.. PALIN PROBABLY PAID SOMEONE TO DO IT WITH THE MONEY SHE POCKETED WITH HER BRIDGE TO NOWHERE… if they were playing at the garden.. instead of putvin sucks.. it would be PALIN SUCKS!

  6. Booktoots is amazing – after all: What is a Campaign? It is about Competion is it not? I played sport.. Palin being at a Sports events I think is a great idea, it fits in with the concept of Playing Fair and giving your best at a game.

    Obama’s Tinseltown games should be left in Hollywood. I give Palin a big thumbs up.. she had the guts to face a crowd that might or might not like her, she played the game in the true spirit.

    I guess the writer is now coated with the usual political BS and its all about their job. Wake up the Elections are about Competition and if true sportsmanship .. not the kind with the drug enchancement.. is in play I am glad and say Kudoos to Palin for not listening to media.. What is the MEdia anyway.. Gossip from a Chair or Desk.. Get up and Put yourself in Palin’s place see how much you can do in a day.

    I would like to see more Investigative reporting i.e. facts about the Candidates not the nonsense on TV. You cannot tell if the Candidates are in Competition or the News Media and Networks!

  7. How does this affect me, well, she is real and in touch and does respect the sport I adore. I think that is cool, where is obama? maybe not in touch with the fans that give me enjoyment too.
    Write a comment next time that is truly about someone else……….for this is the age of entitlement.

Leave a Reply

