• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Satin Pajamas & A TKR

This sounds like it should be a song. Anyways, sleeping concerns during the recuperation process after having a total knee replacement are common. It’s so common, in fact, that I have already made a variety of blog posts on this subject. Always looking for any way to get a good night’s sleep has caused me to experiment quite a bit. I thought it was appropriate to share some information that I have found helps make my attempt at sleeping easier. It may work for you, as well. Here goes…

Wear satin pajamas. Unless it has been a short period since you have been out of your tkr surgery, there is a chance that you want to toss and turn during your sleep. I needed to sleep in a prone (on back) position for the first three months – you may be different. My discovery: Tossing and turning can be handled MUCH easier when wearing satin pajamas. Why?

Maneuverability. Satin is a material that allows easy slidability. (I made my own word here – slidability. It’s like drinkability only it applies to sliding. 🙂 ) It is easy to maneuver around in. There is no pulling nor tugging against the bed sheets while trying to get comfortable. This means that it is easy to pull yourself into a hopefully comfortable sleeping position. This will be a welcome relief for your tkr leg.

Sensory. Satin is a sensory delightful material. Unless you are allergic to satin, the feel of it against your skin is very pleasant. It’s smooth to the touch. The more pleasant feelings you can get while recuperating from your total knee replacement…the better off you are. 🙂

Comfortable
. Satin is a comfortable fabric. Satin hangs well against your body. There is room to move.

If you are lucky, you can find some satin pajamas lined with flannel to help out during colder weather. This is what I have and I swear by them. (I’ve even been made fun of since I take these on camping trips.) 🙂

NOTE: I would think you can get the same benefit from having satin sheets. However – I wouldn’t recommend combining satin pajamas with satin sheets, though. You might slide yourself right onto the floor. 🙂

One Response

  1. I wear nylon pjs and have sateen sheets. This works very well also. I love the idea of your fannel lined satin pjs! That would be ideal for my northwestern Minnesota climate.

Leave a Reply

