• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • February 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Kneeling After A Total Knee Replacement

One of my blog posts consisted of an exercise involving kneeling on the floor. In the blog post I stated that I could do it. After giving it some more thought, I realized that was an understatement. A heavy duty understatement. Here’s the true story….

The end of this week will be my one year post-tkr date. How hard could it be to kneel on the floor? I found it to be a curious endeavor since in theory it seems like a great way to get more flexibility in my tkr knee. So, anyways…I tried the exercise out for size.

Kneeling on the floor involved my hanging on for dear life to something with each of my hands as I SLOWLY lowered my body to the floor. It was not a pretty sight. Once my knee hit the floor, I would not call it kneeling. It was more like a dreaded bend that was begging to be stopped. So after two seconds, I did.

As I held on to the sofa with one hand, and my exercise bike with the other hand, I started to lift myself back up. Sure is good that neither of those two vices could tip over. My return to an upright position was another vision for sore eyes.

I’m glad that exercise is over. 😕

53 Responses

  1. omg! i am so glad that you were the brave one to try this exercise. i am reading this and imagining the whole thing as you were going DOWN. too funny, but not to funny if you would of fell. hey you gave it your best shot. i am so gald that this excercise is only for the tkr people that are at 12 months post op. i have another 6 months to NOT think about doing this. take care and keep up the great writing. i love it!

  2. I know how you feel. You were very brave to do this all by yourself.

    My PT wanted me to get down on the floor. She said studies show that people who are able to get up off the floor are more satisfied with their TKR than folks who are unable to perform this exercise. She put a padded pillow on the floor and I slowly placed my unoperated knee on the pillow followed by the other one. Then I placed my hands on the massage table and pulled myself up. I thought that would be good enough but au contraire.

    Next exercise was to get down on the floor AGAIN on all fours and using my legs pull myself up into an upright position. This did not happen! I ended up dragging my carcass over to the pillow and table and hauling my body up. End of that exercise.

    What did I learn? Don’t ever get on the floor unless I absolutely have to and I can’t imagine what would cause me to do so at this point. The other thing I learned is if I must get down on the floor, make sure I have a muscle-bound man in the house; make that a young and strong muscled man in the house.

    So if anything falls on the floor under something, it’ll stay there a while until I can get an able-bodied soul to get it. (smile)

  3. Wow, I can see we don’t all have the same flexibility! I have been on my knees for over 3 months now and I’m 7 months since surgery. I started when I wanted to do bridges on the carpet in our living room. First few times, I would go off the sofa from a sitting situation and then get on my knees when I needed to get back up. It wasn’t pretty and it was a little uncomfortable. I had a total hip replacement on the opposite side of my tkr last March. I don’t know if I would have tried to go on my knees if a friend of mine who had tkr a month earlier wasn’t already on her knees. Now I go down on my knees and get up much easier. I still don’t have the strength to get up using the tkr knee though, I use the other foot to get up so my tkr knee is still on the carpet when I get up. Can’t say there is much pain in my knee when I get up this way though. Don’t give up, it will come along one day.

  4. I forgot to tell you that I use a piano bench, a dining room chair, a sofa, or a sofa chair to get up, can’t get up on my own otherwise although I did get up a couple of times without a chair. Don’t give up, you will be able to do it eventually! (Sleepless in Minnesota)

  5. I’m not trying the floor….at least for a very long time! I just got the nerve a couple weeks ago to try using the jacuzzi bathtub…..I can get in and sit down okay…..but have to have my hubby come and help me get out….I’ve had 2 bubble baths so far and they were HEAVENLY…….lol…..can’t wait for summer to get here so I can swim again……

  6. hey debi, i’m with you on that. i need to try a bubble bath sometime. it sounds great. but i guess i should wait until my hubby is home incase i can’t get up too. i would hate to be in the tub ALL DAY. lol . i’m just thinking that the only ones that are having fun with the recovery of our tkr, are the ones that are helping us out of the bubble baths and showers! haha. summer can’t come soon enough for me either. since my surgeries i love my pool. take care.

  7. I am 6 weeks post op for my tkr. My doctor has told me I should never kneel again, as it compromises the prosthesis. Is this “kneeling” exercise something that your therapists have advised?
    Thanks,
    Karen

  8. I hope you don’t mind me gate crashing your party, but haven’t personally had a TKR. However, my mother, who is 85 had one on the 18th April. I’m a nurse and have been taking care of her post operative rehabilitation, hands on in the first week and by distance since then. As she was signed off by her surgeon to fly and drive last week, I arranged for her to come to stay with me in a Mediteranean seaside location, where I have been practising yoga with my teacher Melanie Willsher for 3 weeks. When she arrived, Mum’s leg was noticeably swollen and discoloured, she complained of pain. She said that she was scared of kneeling and hadn’t yet been on the floor. Melanie spent an hour with her in her studio, teaching her exercises to reduce swelling, and increase flexibility and mobility. And as all the exercises were done lying on the back, she also taught her to stand up from the floor. Immediately after the class, the swelling and pain had disappeared. This lasted for two full days. Most imortantly, we went to the beach afterwards and Mum laid down on the beach for a snooze and then got up spontaneaoulsy without even thinking about it.
    I really would recommend yoga to all of you, who are scared to get on the floor or kneel.
    Best wishes for rapid rehabilitation to you all

    • Yoga, huh? I have never been able to do Yoga before……not sure I would be any better at it now, probably due to my weight more than age. I salute those who are lithe and nimble……

      Swimming seems to be doing me a million worlds of good the past couple of weeks, so I will swim non stop until Labor Day, then whine for weeks after that when we shut down the pool.

      When I get filthy rich (lol) I will have an indoor heated pool!

      And now, I must go pull some weeds…..without kneeling on the ground!

      Debi

  9. Hi All,
    I had my TKR on the 6th April 09 released from hospital on the 10th April 09.
    My question is; The outside of my operation ‘cut’ has still not really come back to life ie still partly numb–is this common amongst you fellow sufferers and if so how do I get the full feeling back?
    Regards Dennis D
    ps I’m 75 years of age

    • Hi Dennis, if you are talking about the outer side of your knee area, then yes, it may stay numb forever……due to some nerve they cut during surgery…..as my swelling has gone down, mine is less numb than at first, but a definite numbness as compared to my other knee.

      Also, your knee in generally will feel much warmer to the touch because it is healing from the inside out…..regular exercise is the key to recovery….I am at eight months post op…..

      Debi

    • Dear Dennis,
      I’m replying partially in my capacity as a nurse, and partially from how I’ve observed my mother’s healing. Numbness often persists for varying amounts of time after any incision, depending on which nerves are incised on the path through the skin layers, as nerves tissue is the longest to heal in the body. It’s nothing to worry about, and although sensitivity could take up to a year to return fully, it usually does return. Other indicators of the state of nerve healing include swelling and difference in colour compared to the other.
      The way I countered this aspect in my mother’s case was to apply massages to the area around the wound and by reflexology to the feet, two to three times a day. When I left I taught my father to do the wound massage. I use a 10% blend of an essential oil of her choice and a base oil of sesame. Other oils which have a high penetration factor and thus nourish the deeper skin layers include apricot, carmeline and hemp. Find a reflexologist locally and treat yourself to a weekly massage.
      And always remember….GOOD DIET and lots of fluids!!
      best wishes
      Karen

      • Karen, thank you for mentioning reflexology. People kept telling me to go get a massage but it wasn’t my body that was hurting. I started massaging with vitamin E and coco butter on the knee and found that to help. But my ankle was also aching and had my husband massage it. I found out there is a reflexologist just a few houses up the road and was highly recommended. Again that you for posting.

  10. Hi Dennis,
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    My incision area is still numb. I am 17 months post tkr and there is a 1″ radius around my entire scar that has no feeling.

    It’s funny, but I never gave it a thought until I was responding to your comment. 🙂

    Debi is right…exercise is the key to recovery.

    Hope this helps.

  11. i had a tkr on my left knee.on 23rd july
    sitting and standing and even walking is fun. nights are horrible. cant seem to find a comfortable position to sleep. can s/o help

    • Dear Shreelekha,
      It would be very unusual for you not to still be experiencing pain and discomfort, especially at night, only 3 weeks post op.
      I would imagine that your physician has prescribed analgesics for you to take at your discretion, and I would advise you to try and balance the daily dose of analgesics so as to take account of when the pain peaks. If you have the greatest pain at night, take your last intake of pain killers just before you go to bed so that they will be giving you maximum effect throughout the night. Don’t be frightened to take pain killers for as long as you need them, as the need will diminiish as the healing takes effect.
      Also, if you have a cold pack, apply when you go to bed to help you get off to sleep.
      It should take about 6 weeks for the debilitating nd imobilising effects of pain and swelling to recede. Stick with it, it will get better!

  12. Hi Shreelekha,
    We understand about the sleeping discomfort. I’ve written various posts about that subject. Search through this site for more info.
    Good luck! It does get easier, just takes time.

  13. The above comments on TKR were very helpful. It seems we all recover in different periods of time. It is 20 weeks since my op. and can only bend to about 80 degrees – the leg is still numb but improving. I find sleeping with a little pillow between my legs is comfortable. Before the op I was dragging my leg now I can almost walk normally. Still need exercises.

  14. Hey Booktoots, your twelve-month kneeling exercise reminds me of a night when I somehow forgot about my tkr in getting into bed. A momentary lapse of memory – otherwise known as a senior moment perhaps? Instead of my technique of sitting on the side of the bed and swinging my legs up and outwards onto the bed, I did what I often used to do – that is I tried to get up by kneeling with one leg – yes that’s right, the tkr one! Immediately I did it I could feel it was all wrong and somehow turned the whole thing into a roll to protect my knee. You should have seen the look on my husband’s face as I did this weird commando roll onto the bed! But more amazing I think would have been to see the look on MY face as I did it. You have to laugh ……

    • lol…I have caught myself almost doing the same thing….because my bed is so tall, it’s easier to climb in than to sit on and turn….

  15. This has been very informative for me. Had my tkr in feb and was wondering about the numbness and pain I get every so often in bed behind the knee.

  16. I am over 4 months post op, can anyone tell me how long the tight band round the knee lasts please??

    • Hi Ann,
      Thanks for leaving your comment. The front of my knee is still tight on a daily basis. It loosens up after exercise, however. Hope this helps.
      Keep in touch and good luck!

  17. Thanks for reply. My knee is at its best (if you can call it that) first thing in the morning. I can walk about without my sticks….. Then it starts to tighten and get very painful….. I do my excercises 3to4 times a day. Had xray today and its OK…. Doctor can’t explain why I am in a lot of pain……just says some people can take a year to feel ok……and 5% dont get any better…….. feeling very down with it all……Sorry to moan.

  18. Hi Ann,
    You’re feeling down is totally understandable at four months post tkr.
    This just shows how we’re all different in some way. My knee is tightest first thing in the morning. Then, it loosens as the day goes on.
    Don’t let your doctor convince you that you’re in the five percent that won’t get any better. Due diligence on your part will pay off.
    Good luck!

    • Thanks for reply, it does help to have somone to talk to.
      Today is the first day that I hav,nt had a lot of pain when walking, it still feels very stiff and I still feel as though I have tight bands around my knee, but the pain is bearable…….I hardly dare hope that this is finally when things start to pick up. Yesterday my doctor perscribed Gabapentin for the nerve pain, but I have only had one (last night) surly they dont work that fast!! Fingers crossed that I still feel a bit better tomorrow……..Thanks again Booktoots…..

  19. I am five months post op on one knee and two and half on the other. I’m 46 years old and have gained 25 lbs since the first surgery. I’ve joined the local gym and am getting back into cardio for now. I can’t seem to find anything that gives me an idea of what I can do safely. I’ve been on the treadmill (which is more comfortable walking than the pavement), eliptical and stationary bike. It feels great, but I just want to make sure that I’m not going to damage my knees. P.S. this is the best thing I have ever done. Can’t believe how many years I lived in such total pain!!

    • My doctor advised the stationary bike and the eliptical, but wasn’t enthusiastic about the treadmill. He tells me to still take it easy – hard to do as I am feeling very good. I am 6 mo. post TKR

  20. My knee has gone very stiff and painful again. Xrays showed knee is OK, but I am 4 months post op and if anything, the pain is getting worse. What can I do when everyone says everything is normal …….can it take 12 months to feel better??????? I am at wits end. So wish I could rip the ********** thing out…..

  21. My doctor warned against kneeling without having some kind of padding for your knee when you are trying to get up, so in the jacuzzi, I put a large towel, folded as tightly as I can make it under my TKR knee. I stand using my forearm for leverage on the back of the tub and use my non-TKR leg to bring me up to standing. (Sounds strange, but seems to work.) I had purchased a lift chair at first, but I wanted to be deeper in the tib than it allowed.

    • I have a jetted tub, but I will only get in if my hubby is home, for fear that I can’t get out by myself! I’m so afraid of slipping, falling and bumping my knee……I can get out by myself now, but it takes a lot of maneuvering…..still scares me!

  22. Susan, I was wondering why your Dr is telling you to take it easy. If, after 6 months, your body is telling you to go ahead and get active, then, as in Dylan’s words quoted above: “Trust yourself”. Unless of course, there are some mitigating circumstances, in my practice I tell my patients to follow their instincts. In my experience, my patients instinctively know what’s right for “them”, and I avidly encourage and support them to follow the advice of the healer within.
    As I mentionned in earlier postings, my 85 yr old mum had her op on 18th April, and hasn’t looked back, but has been doing a lot of looking down, since: on 9th July, she climbed the 311 steps and 202 ft of The Monument to the Great Fire of London. She’s climbed London Bridge, Arc de Triomphe and various church steeples and monuments, and is catching up on all the things she’s missed out on for the ten years she avoided having the op. She said she wouldn’t think twice about having the other one done, if it came to it.
    Finally, the most important thing is that it has turned her whole life round. No longer having to take all those pain killers, she now has the appetite of a horse. Eatng healthy, good size adult portions has brought her vitality and vastly improved her physical and mental well being.
    Wishing you all an excellent recovery, and a healthy and happy New Year.

  23. Wishing you all a wonderful New Year. I am 10 months post TKR and loving it! The 2nd knee surgery is scheduled next week. For all of you I say be patient and work hard on your therapy. The kindest thing my OS did was to say it takes at least a year+ for total healing. My TKR knee is stable, strong and my new friend. Yes, some pain at times still , a wee bit of swelling and discomfort at night if I walked a great deal during the day. Advil works most of the time for relief. Training is the bike and elliptical but not the treadmill. That comes later. Good luck to all for a complete recovery.

  24. it’s 2 years this april since l had knee replacement–still can not put any weight on knee when kneeling—Lord help me fell and landed on knees had an awful time geting up–fell a second time landed on my side but had to roll onto knees to get up, very painful. you bet l avoid kneeling–unable to even on bed which has a solf foam rubber pad. is this normal???? puting off second knee replacement because of this.

  25. this is 2mth TKR .I feel very pain hard walking and give me frusted night cannot sleep because my knee me lot problem there pain tighten and jam

  26. this is 2mth TKR .I feel very pain hard walking and give me frusted night cannot sleep because my knee me lot problem there pain tighten and jam because i living one of Asean country .because i need sleep 5 hour to sleep be i need recovery my energy

  27. I am 1 year on my left and 1 1/2 on my right knee. I came on this web site to see if kneeling was possible. I can’t kneel, it feels uncomfortable and hurts. I do know that excercise is the key to getting back movement and strength in your knee. I do water aerobics which has done wonders for me. If my knees hurt at night I use a warm rice pack and they feel better right away.

  28. I need some help. 7 months now after my husban’s
    TKR he has not improved and still swollen and he cannot be his leg more than 50%. He is exactly where he as 2 months after surgery.

    Has done every excercise, walks, tries to do things he just cannot do. Doctor says everyone is differenet and it could take a year. i see no improvement coming over the next 3 months.

    Everyone else around us (4) used the same doctor and after 3/4 months like they never had the surgery, yet the Doc is really not doing anything to help us

    My husband had a blood clot in this leg and it did leave the vein with some obstruction. I am not sure if they could have anything to do with the swelling and stopping him from improving.

    Help we are desparate?

    Thank you.

    Chris

    • hi Chris,
      Don’t compare your husband’s recuperation with others. It can be too frustrating.
      Sorry to hear about your husband’s dilemma. We don’t offer medical advice here. I would, however, recommend finding another doctor if you’re not happy with the one you have.
      Good luck!

    • Hi Chris,
      If your husband has experienced circulatory problems, especially in the operated limb, then it’s not surprising healing is delayed. The components needed (oxygen, blood cells, protein, vitamins, minerals,etc) by tissue for normal healing to occur are delivered to injured body part in the blood stream. So, if the blood supply is sluggish or hindered by other factors then healing will be slower.
      Don’t worry, it’ll all come right, he’ll just need more time. Plenty of protein, good nourishing iron rich foods and fresh air are excellent adjuncts.
      best wishes
      Karen

  29. Had replacement knee surgery a year ago this past Feb. Havedone very well, but asked my doctor about kneeling and he said not to. I am 71 and love working in my shop and doing yard work. I need to get on my knees often and now I feel I shouldn’t as I might do some damage to the replacement. Is this just a mind thing? If it is I can over come that. I just don’t want to damage the knee where the doctor would have to do some repair by surgery.

  30. Dear Darwin,

    Has your Dr provided any reason why YOU in particular should not kneel, or is he giving a general codicil of “one shouldn’t kneel after a TKR”? If there is a specific reason why YOU should not kneel, then I would suggest you follow the instruction. If there isn’t then I refer you to the following abstract, which summarises a study performed in Australia comparing real ability to kneel with patients’ perceived ability to kneel. Hope this is helps you to make up your own mind.

    “Ability to kneel after total knee replacement”
    S. H. Palmer, C. T. Servant, J. Maguire, E. N. Parish, M. J. Cross

    From the Australian Institute of Musculo-Skeletal Research, Crows Nest, Australia

    “We have investigated the ability to kneel after total
    knee replacement. We asked 75 patients (100
    knees) at least six months after routine uncemented
    primary total knee replacement, to comment on and
    to demonstrate their ability to kneel. Differences
    between the perceived and actual ability to kneel were
    noted. In 32 knees patients stated that they could
    kneel without significant discomfort. In 54 knees
    patients avoided kneeling because of uncertainties or
    recommendations from third parties (doctors, nursing
    staff, friends, etc). A total of 64 patients was actually
    able to kneel without discomfort or with mild
    discomfort only and 12 of the remainder were unable
    to kneel because of problems which were not related
    to the knee. Twenty-four patients therefore were
    unable to kneel because of discomfort in the knee.
    There was no difference between the ‘kneelers’ and
    ‘non-kneelers’ with regard to overall knee score,
    range of movement and the presence of patellar
    resurfacing.”
    J Bone Joint Surg [Br] 2002;84-B:220-2.

    • Dear Karen,
      I have read a few of your blobs and they all were interesting ,especiallly the one about your 85 year old mother The article onkneeling was very interesting also but the did not discuss the methods used to teach you to kneel;. I am 77 and have bone on bone contact with both knees and am about to get surgeryJune 17th 2010. If you hear of the methodology for this please let me know. My flex in my rt knee is 133 and left knee is130 and I kneel now to get on the floor to exercise, pray and garden,but I know after surgery I will have different animals. if you have any info on methods fo learning to flex let me know

      Thank You in advance
      T. Gray

  31. I am 4 1/2 weeks post op and up to 130 degrees flexion and full extension. I have a hard time getting more than 4 hours of sleep and wake up to my leg throbbing. I am very respectful of pain killers and use them as sparingly as possible but sometimes at 4 or 5 am give in to get some more sleep. I purchased a hot tub which is kind od smalll and I cannot get down to the seat so put a folding chair in but that does not allow me to get down and fully extend my leg. I am truly petrified to get down and not be able to get up , my unoperated leg is shot also, any hints that will allow me to get up without calling someone and also I am overweight so it would be hard for someone else to pull me.

    • I found ice to be better than drugs, ice won’t damage your liver, LOL. I am 18 months out and will never be able to use a tub, was told will never be able to kneel. I am grateful for all I can do. Good luck, Ruth

  32. I had my TKR on May 3 2010. am now 5 weeks post op. I have been able to get up off the floor from week 2, when I tried doing some yoga.
    The pain has been going down and today I am feeling more comfortable. I stopped heavy pain meds about a week or so post op, taking tylonal instead.It has been aching a lot and occasional weird twinges and pains. Also, my energy level has been quite low and I have been sleeping a lot during the day.
    I have been going to PT regularly and doing all the exercises at home. I want to get back in the gym to work out and swim ASAP.
    I was doing, yoga, swimming, biking and working with weights prior to my TKA and I feel that has made a huge difference in my current recovery.
    I ice a lot. The knee is still hot especially ater exercise. It is numb on the lateral side just below the knee. I have a ROM of 0 streight to 131 bent and am tyryigfor more bend. The scar is ugly as sin, but I guess this is how I pay for those years of extra pounds. I still have to lose 30 pounds. I hope to be back to skiing next season.
    I tried kneeling on the bed and am able to do it. I also (for those who know yoga) tried child’s pose, where you kneel and then go back with your head on the floor, not too sucessful yet.
    Please keep doing your stretches and exercise. If you can’t get up off the floor, you might want to talk to your PT or go to a gym and work with a trainer to get your strength up. Even if you are heavy, you can do something to help yourself feel better and move better.
    there’s lots of help out there so go get it.

  33. Just to correct the mistyped email.

  34. I am almost one year post-op TKR. I resumed my daily three mile walk in December. I walked in our church gym for about 45 minutes for a couple of months before that. My foot was numb and I had many ankle problems after surgery. The numbness on my heel is down to about the size of a quarter. The doctor says nerves get messed up and it takes a while for them to regenerate. I can kneel if I want to. Occasionally I have a pain around the knee replacement area but it’s not bad enough to worry about. I am almost 76 years old.

  35. Thanks for sharing your recuperation process with us, Carolyn. It’s great to hear you can kneel. It’s also encouraging to read about your exercise regime and your positive attitude. Kudos to you!

    Keep in touch and good luck!

  36. Hi Booktoots, fellow TKA survivors and future TKA victims.

    You may see that I wrote back in June 2 months ago. So I thought I would catch you up on my progress.
    I am going to the gym 2 days a week doing yoga and yes getting on my knees in child’s pose. It irritates the knee under the incision and more on the outside, but I still do it. I am swimming 2 days a week and am up to 3/4 mile in about 50 minutes. I did a short hike through the woods and fields this past week with no ill effects. I have been taking occasional baths and can get up and down on the floor. Now I am 66 yo and am working at losing weight. My knee doesn’t like long walks because of the repetitive motion. I have been getting burning pain on the lateral side of the knee under the numbness and occasional weird twinges of pain on top of the knee cap. I do have a good ROM, as good as it was before the surgery. I was back in the surgeon’s office at 12 weeks Post op. He asked me what I thought of the surgery and I told him I would reserve my answer for 6 months. My next follow up apt. is in 5 years (unless something SNAFU’s. A word about yoga… do a beginners class aget a teacher you like. Don’t let anyone “make you do something” that hurts more than you feel is good for you (because these knees do hurt) …so don’t force anything, just keep moving and trying and slowly it gets better. Best Wishes and Good luck to you all!

  37. had my tkr aug 10 still can not get on my knees at all on the bed or floor im 54 it feels like pins needles are going trou my knee sides and front of it and im still waking up with night pain went tru all ex programs for 6 weeks any ideas plese let me know stl.

    • Just to encourage you. I am now over 6 months TKA I am swimming a mile in the pool using fins 2 times a week. Also doing yoga 2 times a week. The kneeling is not a lot of fun but I can do it and childs pose, with less irritation. It was very irritating at first and I could not tolerate much. With repeated practice I can stay on my knee longer and tolerate it better. I also do squats to help maintain ROM. This is not all easy or pain free, just the more I do, the better it gets. My Dr. suggested I kneel on a soft chair seat while standing on the other leg. This might help you improve your ability to kneel. Do it a little bit at a time and slowly you’ll see an improvement. It takes time for your body to heal and the pins and needles are a part of it.
      I am a Ski Patroller and was up on the mountain yesterday doing chair evac practice. I was able to hike up the mountain about 1/4 mile and down again pain free. Also came off the chair lift with the evacuation device. I plan to be skiing in December. The knee aches occasionally. I have NO problem getting up and down on the floor and into and out of the bath tub.
      If you are having pain at night get yourself up and get ice on it. I would put ice on my knee when I went to bed and removed it when I woke during the night, It reduces swelling and inflamation. I also had been using that Cox 2 inhibitor antiinflamatory medicine that wasn’t taken off the market and now occcasionally if I feel I need it. The knee still is a bit puffy and hotter that the other knee. There is numbness on the lateral side which feels weird and I get prickly and burning sensations. I decided that nothing would stop me from improving and have pushed through the pain.

  38. thank you il try ice for the night pain ive been trying to kneel on soft things but the pain is to much for a long time it dosnt go away when i get up for a while then it just hurts the rest of the day il let you know if the ice works my doctor says some people never can kneel agin.does the cold weather bother you.

Leave a Reply

