• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • March 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Stairs, Laundry, and A TKR

I never gave it much thought about my going up and down stairs while handling the task of laundry. I did not enjoy doing it, but it had to be done. So, why complain? (Well, actually I’d complain, but no one could hear me. The secret’s out. :?) Anyways, that changed recently when I read a story about what one of my readers went through during this process. It was an unfortunate experience that prompted me to write this blog post about my own experience regarding this subject area. Here is how I successfully handle these tasks while recuperating from my total knee replacement.

Clear view. Make certain to have a clear view of where I am walking. If I cannot see the step area on which I am to put my foot, I do not take a step. This is common sense, yet imperative in not hurting oneself. Safety first.

Empty. Make certain there is nothing else on the steps/stairs, “empty steps”. Small items such as toys, bundled up towels, or rocks can cause a loss of balance with the end result of injury.

Laundry basket. I find this an imperative item to have while doing laundry. Rarely do I go without it.
Downstairs. Going downstairs, I either slide the basket downstairs or carry it with one hand. My other hand is holding onto the railing.
Upstairs. This takes more creativity. Upon filling my basket with clean laundry, I stand at the bottom of the stairs and lift my basket up to a comfortable level – usually three steps. I use both hands to hold the basket. I put the basket down by bending over (that’s innovation…:)). Then, I stand up, grab a hold of the railing and walk up to the laundry basket. I repeat the process. Bend over, pick up the basket, put it up three steps, use railings, etc. There is no strain. It takes awhile to accomplish the fun task of doing laundry, but so be it.

Railings. These are a necessity, especially for a tkr person. I just described how I use them. You may find the same will be helpful to you.

Footing. Firm footing is essential during this process. I make certain my entire foot is on the stair before raising myself up upon my leg.

Walking aide. During my first three weeks after my tkr, I used a crutch as a cane. This was under one arm while the other arm held the railing. Upstairs: I’d put the basket on a stair, stand up, use cane under one arm and hold on to the railing with my other hand. I’d walk up the stair to the basket, etc. Same process, basically, as mentioned above.

Well, I hope this information helps others enjoy the fun-filled task of doing laundry while having to tackle stairs during a tkr recuperation. Consider yourself a multi-tasker. 🙂

Enjoy this information? Share it with others by clicking on one of the following……

Add to Technorati Favorites

Digg!

Bookmark and Share

One Response

  1. Laundry, you mean I’m supposed to be doing laundry???

    lol……..Luckily I live in a single story house and my utility room is conveniently located just outside the master bedroom, so it was very easy to just pick up an armful and walk around the corner.

    I made sure before I went for my surgery, that my house was obstacle free and I had a clear path to every place I needed to get to….I also had nightlights in every room to help me get around in the dark….especially when I was having to get ice packs in the middle of the night!

    I haven’t fallen…..yet…and hope I never do. So glad we have no stairs!

Leave a Reply

