• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Easter Recollections

After receiving some wonderful Easter cards, my thoughts returned to my childhood and what Easter meant to me in my formative years. I thought I’d share them with you, since I know some others may have such fond memories….

A day or two before Easter my family would color eggs. This was always fun.

My dad and I would bake bunny and egg-shaped sugar cookies. Pink and green sprinkles. Always fun and tasty!

I would wake up on Easter morning and find an Easter basket filled with goodies. “Grass” was shiny and colored. There would be a variety of small chocolate eggs, some malted milk eggs (my favorite!) and a chocolate bunny. Usually the bunny was hollow – bummer. Milk chocolate was the norm and white chocolate was a special treat. Sometimes there would be a stuffed bunny in my basket. I would use this Easter basket for my egg hunt. Oh, and there were jelly beans – yuck.

My Easter outfit:
hair nicely curled
Easter bonnet with ribbons
pastel colored Easter dress
White gloves
My little purse
White anklets with lace around the edges
Black patent leather shoes

My brothers were in their suits with ties. It’s the only time they combed their hair. 😉

My family would go to Sunday morning church services which was followed by an Easter egg hunt.

After returning from church and having an Easter basket full of REAL eggs, we’d have our Easter meal. Two families would gather around our table. It was always a festive time. We’d listen to Irving Berlin’s “Easter Parade”. (Music was always playing on this special day). To this day, I love that song. 🙂

Easter feast:
Ham cooked with cloves in it
Au Gratin Potatoes
Home made rolls
Carrots
Green Beans (no green bean casserole here….those are “yucky”.)
Ambrosia Salad
Grandma’s Homemade Pie (she’d surprise us…always GRRRREAT!!!)

Prior to partaking of our feast, as with every meal, everyone at the dinner table would lower their heads and say in unison:

The Lord’s Prayer (aka Daily Bread Prayer)

Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done of earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread;
and forgive us our trespasses
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.

For thine is the kingdom, the power, and the glory
Forever and ever.

Amen

Then the festivities would begin….

Blessings…

2 Responses

  1. […] more here:  Easter Recollections « Booktoots’s Weblog Tags: booktoots, delicious, easter-dress, easter-nbsprecollections, festivities, irving-berlin, […]

  2. I found lots of interesting information on booktoots.wordpress.com. The post was professionally written and I feel like the author has extensive knowledge in the subject. booktoots.wordpress.com keep it that way.

Leave a Reply

