• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Healthy & Easy Cooking After A TKR

Actually, this is an easy way for anyone who wants to cook. It involves a crockpot. I swear by mine. For the most convenience, especially immediately after having a tkr, this just can’t be beat for providing the most flavor and tenderness of whatever is cooked in it.

I recommend buying some of those baby carrots that are already peeled. Believe me, peeling carrots (or any vegetable for that matter) will be the last thing you want to do when first coming home after your total knee replacement. The prepared fresh carrots just cannot be beat.

Buy some of those prepackaged and prepared (already cut and peeled) bags of fresh vegetables. Or, if you have someone else available that can perform those tasks of chopping, peeling, etc….go for it.

Cover the bottom of the crockpot with water. Only a little bit.
Then…..Place your favorite protein (chicken, beef, pork, tofu, etc.) into the crockpot.
Sprinkle with Italian seasoning or a variety of freshly cut herbs.
Turn heat until high. (I plan on it taking about 2 hours cooking time for really moist protein).

Add vegetables and cover crockpot.
Cover with terry cloth to keep in heat.

I like to periodically move the ingredients around, just to re-distribute the liquid. Plus, I turn over the protein.
Test for doneness.

Eating properly and nutritiously during your tkr recuperation is important. It’s important during any time of your life, but especially so when your body is getting back on track to ‘normal’ functioning.

Using a crockpot will provide you with the best homemade meal around. 🙂

Serve and enjoy!!!

3 Responses

  1. I actually used my crock pot yesterday…..we were having steaks on the grill last night, so I went on and fixed dinner for tonight. Mine is not a really “healthy” meal…..I bought some country style pork ribs, par boiled them about 10 minutes, put into crock pot and poured in a bottle of Cattleman’s barbecue sauce…..cooked on high about 3 hours until fork tender. Opened a bag of coleslaw mix, poured in a bottle of Hidden Valley Ranch Cole Slaw dressing. Now, I am heating up the ribs, opening a can of Bush’s grilling beans….and, voila!

    Pork….it’s the other white meat!

  2. Hello,
    booktoots.wordpress.com – da best. Keep it going!
    GlenStef

  3. Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for sharing. I will certainly be subscribing to your posts.

Leave a Reply

