• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Decreased Nerve Damage & A TKR

For the first 13 months after my total knee replacement, I had severe nerve pain on the outer portion of my tkr leg. I wrote about this previously and found out that it seems to be a pretty common occurrence after undergoing this surgery.

Well, something surprising has happened within the last month. This nerve pain is 95% gone. I am not woke up at night from this sharp pain. I can move my leg in different ranges without any pain. And, I do not have to wait a bit upon standing in order to have my nerve ‘position’ itself properly. This is interesting to me.

I would like to attribute it to the fact that I exercise diligently. When riding my upright bicycle, I notice my nerve is also getting a workout. I can feel it move along side my tkr joint. It does not hurt, but seems to be stretching out. That is how it feels to me, anyways.

If I am not riding my upright bike, I using walking as my exercise. Not only does this help my all around health, but my tkr leg loves it. My nerve is not painful at all while I do this. It used to be.

Even though I may have written about how excited I was about not having this severe nerve damage pain anymore….I’m doing it again since it is such a remarkable improvement.

I am sure I still have nerve damage (I don’t think it ever heals itself…does it?) but perhaps the holistic treatment of exercise and time has diminished it profoundly.

I don’t have a definitive answer other than whatever it is….I hope it continues!

Hope this helps others going through the same thing.

(To Murphy: Please don’t follow me after this post. I’m crossing my fingers. )

Find this post interesting or useful? Please share it with others….

Add to Technorati Favorites

Digg!

Bookmark and Share

6 Responses

  1. Woohoo! Good news is always nice to hear!

    Now I have even more to look forward to, although I don’t have the problem you did, I still have the occasional sharp, shooting pain……it’s getting less frequent as I progress.

    I really do think that my going back to work and being forced to stand and walk so much has helped me to progress a little more than if I had not been working, or had a desk job.

  2. Woohoo! Good news is always nice to hear!

    Now I have even more to look forward to, although I don’t have the problem you did, I still have the occasional sharp, shooting pain……it’s getting less frequent as I progress.

    I really do think that my going back to work and being forced to stand and walk so much has helped me to progress a little more than if I had not been working, or had a desk job.
    Ooops, should have added good post! Waiting on your next one!

  3. Hmmmm, something is amiss in cyberspace, Booktoots! I did NOT make that last post this morning at 7:58 AM…..I was at work!

    What happened??? Who added that last line? Not me……

  4. You have the same name, but your two email addresses are different. So, she must have liked your comment so much she copied and pasted it into the Reply box, then added her comment.
    🙂

  5. Well, if I’d know I was going to be quoted, I would have said something really profound!!!!

    lol

    Debi….aka Thelma…..

  6. Nerve damage can be tricky. good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

