• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Another Long Overdue Improvement in A TKR

Where does the time go? It’s coming up to 15 months after my total knee replacement surgery. Although, during the first 10 months I could say….”Man, is this ever going to end?!” As we all know, who have been through it, the recuperation is a total bear. However, here is some good news….

The other night I was laying down and lifted my tkr leg and bent it. With it bent, I laid my leg down sideways onto the surface. Then, I stretched out my groin muscles. I hope I’m describing this well. It felt great. I just laid there for a while, it felt so incredibly good to be able to stretch out those muscles!

Suddenly, I realized….”Hey…I couldn’t even do this before. Wow! I must be improving!” I tried so many times throughout my recuperation process to do that movement, but it was far too painful. I figured the time just wasn’t right, but always hoped that I would reach the point where the movement came easily.

And, here it is. 🙂 It is only after all the exercise, griping and moaning (and I do mean GRIPING AND MOANING! – not that I wasn’t grateful, it’s just that sometimes it seems so fruitless), and keeping the faith that it has happened. It has not been easy by any means.

This can be considered an exercise, now that I think about it. 🙂

Hopefully this blog post will help others going through the same thing. I don’t want to sound like I am bragging, but – believe me – I’ll take any accomplishment I can. And, I like to share them with others who may be going through the same thing.

Have you enjoyed this article? If so, kindly share it with others by clicking on….

Add to Technorati Favorites

Digg!

Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

  1. YAY!!!

    It’s the little things now that make us happy, right?

    Happy weekend!

    Debi

    really, and truly….Debi….lol

  2. It’s been a while since I posted but wanted to share. When I first came to this site I was about 4 weeks post op and desperate for some answers. The ones your surgeon doesn’t discuss with you because he/she has never been a tkr patient. It has been great therapy to find I wasn’t the only one suffering and struggling with recuperation.
    There isn’t much on the web that is positive about the surgery because most who post are still in pain and regreting the surgery. I didn’t want to be one of those who improved and didn’t share it… I am coming up on five months and the difference is like daylight to dark. I am back at work (fitness Club) which keeps me on my feet the whole time I am there. I am exercising as before with a few modifications. The Bike and swimming have become my best friends. I am walking without the slightist limp. If you didn’t know I had a tkr you could not tell from my walk. I have worked on this diligently. The pool has helped in getting my normal gait back. The swelling is down to a minimum but when needed I apply ice and elevate and it is as good as new. I am sleeping all night and have no more pain unless I really over do the workout and that is strictly muscle related soreness. I am still struggling with my range of movement as it is only about 120 but feel this will improve with time. I am very optimistic these days. For those who read my earlier post, you would not believe it is the same person writting today. For those who are still struggling my only comforting words are, continue to push through the pain of rehab, be faithful with your own exercises at home and find something you once enjoyed and keep working at it and it will come. I am dancing again and soon will go back to teaching my dance classes. I am grateful to be getting my life back so don’t despair. Keep pushing!! God bless….

    • Thank you, thank you and all those who offer their experiences and ups and downs. I am at the almost six week post op stage and so concerned about the amount of warmth still around part of the incision so frozen peas are my constant companions. It has been grueling and I have for some reason acquired nausea in the mix. Opinion its pain med related but I have not taken a pain med for one week. So not fun. So, pain,nausea, little sleep, but walking is easy. Guess I’ll have to celebrate that – if I can ever enjoy eating again.

  3. @Debi,
    Great hearing from you. Thanks for your energy and positive feedback!

    @ Alisa,
    Thanks for sharing your inspiring comment. It’s great to hear! Hearing someone succeed after a tkr is always fulfilling. 🙂

    Kudos to you! 🙂

  4. Good for you Alisa! I can hardly wait to get in the pool in a few weeks, I’m looking forward to some really good exercise….I think I may have trouble climbing the ladder at first……but, I’ll deal with it best as I can…..Trying to get my brother in law to come visit and build me some steps and a small deck……lol….we’ve only had this pool for 7 years now!

    I think the walking and being on my feet so much has really helped me tremendously……

    Nice to hear positive feedback!

Leave a Reply

