• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Swelling 15 Months After A TKR

One of the most common concerns I hear about from readers who have had a total knee replacement is that of swelling. It seems that throughout the recuperation process, this is an area of interest. I know in my case, I was expecting my tkr knee swelling to go down after just a few months.

Think again. It is common for my tkr knee to swell after exercise, but my surgery was almost 16 months ago. And, it still swells up and requires icing. I’m not complaining, just stating a fact.

The last couple of weeks there has been increased swelling due to the fact that I am kicking some butt with my new ortho shoes. 🙂 For the first time in 30 plus years, I can walk without pain – like an “ordinary” person. And, my recuperation is at a point that I can have a “normal” gait. Woohoo!!! So…I am taking advantage of it.

I was told by my doctor, at my year follow-up, that my knee may be swollen for the rest of my life. It was nothing to be concerned about. Hmm. Can’t wait for bathing suit season. NOT!! (That was my attempt at a joke).

Hope this helps others who are going through the same thing. Think of the alternatives and be grateful. 🙂

If you have enjoyed this article, I’d appreciate it if you would share it with others. Click on…

Add to Technorati Favorites

Digg!

Bookmark and Share

9 Responses

  1. […] Liyakasa, Kelly added an interesting post today on Swelling 15 Months After A TKRHere’s a small readingIt was nothing to be concerned about. Hmm. Can’t wait for bathing suit season. NOT!! (That was my attempt at a joke). […]

  2. I too am concerned over swelling….I am only 4 wks out and am anxious over the swelling i can only bend 115 degrees with the therapist help…..it is real painful in therapy but I guess this is how it is and hopefully it gets better……thanks for your input….15 months out I would have thought you would be back to “normal” I needed that wake up….

  3. Thanks for your input, Russ.
    I also thought the swelling would be gone by now, but was told that it may be with me forever. Oh well. At least there is no joint pain like before my tkr.

    Good luck!

  4. My mom had tkr on her right knee in December and still has some pain and a lot of swelling. She sits at a computer much of the day and that makes it worse. She says that when it swells it feels like a tight band around her knee and her mobility is very limited. When it is really bad, she is fortunate if she is able to get to 90; however, in good times she’s at about 110. She gets very discouraged that she isn’t back to normal. Was this band around the knee feeling something that you experienced? Does icing it help if the knee isn’t swellng due to exercise? Any pointers for her.

    • Hi Janine,
      Thanks for your comment. I didn’t have the band around the knee experience your mom has, but I do swear by icing to help her tkr knee. Icing rocks and is the best pain killer she can use. I use it even when I haven’t exercised.
      Have you read through my blog? If not, there are a variety of posts and comments that can help your mom.
      Good luck and keep in touch!

  5. Maybe not the right place for this question, but, how severe was your pain before your surgery? I’m at the point that if I twist the wrong way I start limping, but usually after an hour or so it eases up. I don’t use a cane or anything like that, and most of the time I don’t even have a limp. I’m starting to second guess my decision, and I have to be honest, the problems you guys are having with simple stuff like sitting and standing are scaring me. My doc has told me that I will be able to go back to work in 8 weeks, now I’m starting to wonder.

  6. I HAD TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT 16 MONTHS AGO .NOW IM HAVING PAIN LIKE BEFORE OPERATION. WENT BACK TO DOCTOR AND WAS TOLD THERE IS INFLAMMATION. I WAS TAKING 6 ALIVE A DAY JUST TO GET TROUGH WORK AND BE PAIN FREE. NOW DOCTOR PUT ME ON MOTRIN 600 3TIMES A DAY. THE PAIN IS SO BAD. IS IT NORMAL TO HAVE THIS HAPPEN THIS LONG AFTER? I DONT THINK I WILL BE ABLE TO WORK ANYMORE. DOCTOR SAID BECAUSE I HAVE SUCK GOOD STRENGHT AND BEND I PROBBALY OVER WORKED IT. ANY HELP OUT THERE? TIRED OF PAIN AND STIFFNESS HELP

  7. Hi Getz,
    Once again, I recommend icing as a natural pain killer. It works great for me. It’s cheap and effective! . 🙂
    Good luck!

  8. I am so happy to hear and share. I had partial knee replacement in both knees last November. I have a real stiffness, thickness feeling around my whole knee front and back. Not always, just when I over do it. I was told if I over do- I will have pain. Stairs are a killer and I have lots of stairs to climb every day. I was also told that after 5-6 months I should to be back to normal. I know many people who have had total and partial knee replacements. They all said it is the best thing they ever did and why didn’t they do it sooner, a new lease on life. I think the healing time varies depending on what you do. I can’t take it easy so my healing will be longer. I agree with icing, I think it is a miracle, morning and night. I fill zip lock baggies with water and freeze them- they are perfect!

Leave a Reply

