• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Leg Crossing & A TKR

Something interesting happened the other day that I wanted to share since I’m sure other tkr patients are going through the same thing. Here goes:

For months after my tkr, I could not lift my bionic leg and cross it over my other leg. First, my muscles were not strong enough to lift my leg. Developing my leg muscles was my main concern during recuperation and physical therapy. Then, at about 3-6 months after my surgery, the pain was too intense for me to comfortably sit crossed legged. I could lift my leg but not easily cross it over my other leg. It was a complete struggle.

Now, I am 17 months post tkr. I saw down today and without thinking, crossed my tkr leg over my other leg. Then, it dawned on me…no pain, increased flexibility, and an effortless movement. Wow. It took me off guard. It was a nice kind of surprise, for sure.

I remember at my five months post tkr seeing someone cross their legs at the ankles. She had a bilateral total knee replacement a couple years prior. When I saw that, I was very impressed. I couldn’t come close to doing that. (That movement is what caused my knee to originally “lock up” prior to my surgery). I asked her what time period went by before she could make that movement. She didn’t remember. I’m not going to be like that since I don’t want to take any movements involving my tkr for granted. So, I’m sharing the news here.

We all know the immense pain, frustration, and hard work involved in recuperating from a tkr. Let’s not take anything for granted.

Hope this has helped someone. It does get better, honest! 🙂

If you enjoyed it…kindly share it…Thanks..

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses

  1. you are so right. take nothing for granted. but with alot of hard work it can happen again. and boy marie i am so in that place right now going through this again so soon. thank you for your thoughts. take care

  2. My short, fat little legs wouldn’t cross before, so I’m sure I won’t be able to now….unless I lose weight!

    If I were 5′ 9″……I’d be fine……lol

    On the other hand, I worked myself to a sweaty frenzy today, b/c we have overnight company coming…..just for tonight…..but the house looks great….everything in place (or hidden out of sight)….and I going to read on my book until they get here in an hour or two……I’ll look like I have just swam and lolly gagged around all day long…..hahahahahaha

    Debi

Leave a Reply

