• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

How Negativity Affects A TKR

Recently, I have received comments and emails regarding how frightening my blog is. I have written about this before, but believe something else needs to be said.

MINDSET: Your mindset going into a tkr is what determines how well you will recuperate and how hard you will work. The pain of recuperation is intense. And…that’s a mild description. If you go into a tkr thinking “Oh my god, this is terrible”….it will be terrible. If you go into the tkr thinking “I’m going to make the best of this”….you will.

PAIN LEVEL: Also, if your pain level prior to a tkr is not to the point of you thinking “I don’t want to deal with this pain anymore. It is limiting my life. I can’t do what I want to do physically. Enough is enough!” …maybe you are not ready for a knee replacement. Personally, I was carrying crutches with me everywhere I went for a year prior to my surgery. My knee was locking up whenever it wanted. I didn’t know what to expect or when it would happen. The pain was debilitating. I despised the uncertainty. Even the task of walking caused excruciating pain. And…I absolutely love to walk. I walk when others grab a cab, that’s how much I love it. I wanted to walk painlessly.

Prior to my tkr, I couldn’t move from a sitting or prone position without extreme pain. I needed to adjust my spinal column to lessen the pain.

RECUPERATION: The amount of exercising needed to recuperate from a tkr is immense. It’s extremely easy to get frustrated (and we all do it). The time needed to do these exercises and see results is not a quick fix. It is a long and very arduous process. Everyone is different. Don’t compare yourself to others. Compare yourself to yourself.

Anyways, I hope this helps those thinking about undergoing a knee replacement. At least you’re lucky enough to read about all that is involved regarding the long recuperation process. Many of my readers, and myself, were not that lucky. I went into the surgery thinking I’d be kicking butts within a month. Was I wrong.

Having a knee replacement is the best thing I could have done. I’ve received the same feedback from many of my readers, also. In fact, this blog has turned into a very welcoming support system. For that, I am grateful to everyone who has contributed. 🙂

You’ll know when you’re ready. Listen to your intuition. Kindly don’t blame me for providing realistic information. I could write about a tkr negatively, but I don’t. There are far too many positive results involved. Yes, the information can be surprising and eye opening. Don’t tell me I scare or frighten you, I don’t like hearing that since that’s not my intention. It is all in your own mindset and how you interpret information.

Thanks for listening and best of luck to all!

Find this interesting? Kindly share it…

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. Hello Marie, I’ve just returned home from Vancouver and have been catching up on some of my favourite boards including this one, when I came upon your post.

    Needless to say I was annoyed to read that some people find it easier to focus there fear on your blog, than find the heart to face their own fears.

    I hope you realize it goes without saying that those of us that have faced down these demons and deal with our situations on a daily basis, take a great deal of pleasure from your writing and musings.

    Keep up the good works…………

    Rick
    Toronto

  2. hi there, anita again! i totally was at the enough is enough stage. i was using a cane. i felt ridiculous. esp considering that just 4 years ago, i was a weightlifter. ugh.
    (btw- i got lyme disease at 42, was not diagnosed for a looong time, it went into a type of RA and at 46 i’m getting bionic parts and bone cut off. joy)

    i do my own pt everyday and struggle thru the pain with the mindset that i didn’t just do multiple $40K worth of agony inducing surgery to wimp out on working thru it. i have a different set of rules and timelines due to the achilles surgery, but that’s ok. i love it that you’re up front, blatant and honest. i’d rather have a harsh truth than a pretty lie any day. and you can routinely hear me stop, point at the knee and say, “i’m the boss of you, you WIll work and do what i say!!!” my husband just shakes his head and laughs.

    two more questions tho, first, when does it become more comfortable to sit normally for a length of time. i still can’t do restaurants cause i become really uncomfortable in about 10 minutes.
    did anyone else get this itchy thing going? i ended up allergic to all pain meds, and am now down to just tylenol and advil alternately, but i’m still itching like crazy. anyone else you know have that problem?

  3. I am now 4 months out of having a left total knee replacement. I was also at the enough was enough stage, I had been an aerobics instructor, my body was use to exercising, and I had problems even getting out of a chair, and from lack of exercise I was starting to gain weight. I was bone on bone. PT is hard and you have to really work at it, but, it’s worth it. I can now get out of a chair and walk without fear of my knee locking or giving out on me. I still get stiff after sitting, but it’s not like it was before the surgery.

Leave a Reply

