• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Curbs & A TKR

As I was walking outdoors earlier today, my journey included walking up a steep incline and conquering a couple of curbs. (I make it sound like mountain climbing.) The curbs are still exercise for me, 17 months post tkr. So, it got me thinking about sharing this info with others. Then….

This post has been difficult to write. I started out just intending to share the information about how to view and use curbs to your advantage after a tkr. Then, I recalled how we need to work out way up to this level (of using steps). We need to develop our gait, balance and leg muscles in order to accomplish this feat. As any tkr patient is well aware….it’s easier said than done. Hmm…

Let me see if this works…

When you are out and about, use curbs as a form of step up exercise. You don’t need to go to the gym or purchase any special equipment.

That’s it. Hopefully this info can help others. As the famous philosopher, Red Green, says…”We’re all in this together”. 🙂

Find interesting? Kindly share with others…

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses

  1. Hello TKR people. I haven’t been on here for a while but thought I might share my experience with my TKR. I had mine feb. 2nd. I’m now 7 months post-op and still have some really bad days but not always. My Dr. said it would take a year and a half to fully re-cuperate and I believe him. I have pain, popping out loud, grinding like a squeaky door hinge and I’m still having trouble with steps. I still yell out in the night sometimes because a sharp pain shoots through my knee. I’m on pain pills and muscle relaxers so I can get a decent nights rest now. I went through 12 weeks of therapy and I’m constantly going around my house. Let me say this to all of you about this surgery. You have to learn to get outside of your home again. Believe me I know. I have been in my house except for Dr. appointments and surgery for 3 years! I do go outside and walk around and walk up and down the street, I swim but I feel like a recluse! So, you really need to make yourself get out as soon as possible. I have no desire to go anywhere and I can’t stand it that I allowed myself to become this way. Well, good luck to all of you who have had or are having a TKR. You really are in for a journey but its much different than having the constant nagging burning pain before TKR.

    God Bless you all and hang in there, it takes time so don’t give up.

  2. hello,

    i’ve been gleaning tons of info from everyone here and i’m so glad to have real ppl to learn from. i’m a little different in that i’m 3 weeks post op with a tkr (i have RA in all my large joints) but i had repair of a haglund’s deformity at the same surgery. so i have to NOT walk for 4 weeks minimum. kinda sux cause i know walking is a big part of knee recovery. so my achilles has to heal before i can really get going again. i’m kind of amazed at how long it takes to recover, and since i’ll be battling two different rehabs at once, i’m sure i’m going to have some rough days. i’m NOT sleeping well, and i’m tired of being unable to do for myself. it gives me hope to read some of the stories i see on here, anguish for others. my rom is pretty good, and i’m can already straighten the knee more than before surgery. i’m freaked at the weights on the knee to straighten. whoa. it still hurts alot to straighten it tho. when does that sort of calm down? in fact, when does it all start to move easier without as much pain and supreme effort and concentration?
    anyway, thanks for putting it all out there for those of us coming behind you!

Leave a Reply

