• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Hot Knee & A TKR

I’ve had some inquiries regarding hot knees after a tkr. It brought back some memories I’d like to share. Ahh…memories.

For about the first five months after my tkr, every time I would get done exercising, my knee would get warm. Depending upon how strenuous my exercise was, the heatness would vary.

When I was still gaining flexibility and increasing my tkr muscle strength, it was very warm. The icing afterwards was always a shock at first. This was immediately after my tkr until three months, as an estimate. The exercises were more therapy based at that time. I remember being told to feel the tkr warmth to determine how hard I was working. As my muscles worked, they’d warm up. I could feel the warmth without touching my tkr knee.

After a solid four months, the warmness would decrease, but it was still there. I had to touch my tkr knee to feel the warmth at this stage. This is the stage when I started to walk as exercise, but very slowly. I wasn’t using any walking aide. I was still building up my gait that I hadn’t had in 30 years. My hamstrings (plural for one leg?) were still very painful.

Now that I’m at 18 months post tkr, my knee does not get warm after exercise. Or…if it does, I don’t notice it. (To be truthful, I haven’t checked it.) I just re-read that last sentence. This blog post is supposed to be encouraging. 😕

Hope this helps anyone else going through the tkr recuperation.

Interesting? Kindly share with…

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for jotting down your thoughts, memories, feelings. I’m scheduled for my tkr on Sept. 1, and I am so eager. I appreciate the advice and the personal point of view. I’m so ready to walk aroubd the block, take the dogs out, not use a shopping cart as a walker in disguise. The rough spots will be easier knowing someone else is sharing them.

  2. i am 4 TKR my left leg still cannot weight up .i cannot still bend or touch leg down .this is give bad mood .can you teach how bend and touch leg. because this i need use.

  3. I had my TKR five months ago and I’m not sorry! At 68 years young, I wanted my life back, wanted to walk distances again and wished to bike again when I wanted. All of these I’ve been able to do since the third month after my surgery. Several things helped me through my TKR: I lost weight (which I’ve not replaced) before my surgery. I know that was very important. Secondly, one of my kids came by daily and “pushed” my operated leg under a chair. Hurt like hell, but it definitely helped to have that leg exercised and stretched, I know. I took the “meds” for about one month, then I moved to Tylenol extra-strength as needed, but only for a few weeks. My husband suggested we get a recliner for the bedroom. That ended up being “huge” as I sometimes just needed a change of position the first month or so if I needed to lay down. My only complication after surgery was learning that I’d developed three blood clots in my lower leg the day after surgery. There was a “cluster” of activity upon learning that and and many post ultrasounds. My regular doctor voted against thinners and put me on aspirin and exercise. I’m not dead yet, so I guess that’s good. I feel great and think of my knee replacement much as I did when I had children years ago: hurt like hell when it happened, but I don’t remember much of it since then, and I’m happy with the result.

Leave a Reply

