• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • September 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Living With Double Vision

Hi everyone. Part of the reason I have not posted in a few days is the fact I’ve been involved in scheduling an eye surgery. Of course this involves eye appointments. Holy Mackerel. As grateful as I am for everything, by the time the eye exam is done…I just want to sleep. 🙂

A couple of weeks ago I finally received a diagnosis I could understand. See…34 years ago I was in a car accident in which I experienced numerous injuries. One was a closed head injury that was a result of my head hitting the dashboard and going through the windshield. This head trauma caused a weak muscle and damaged nerve in my left eye. I was told them that I would have diplopia (double vision) for the rest of my life. This diplopia originally started on my right lateral.

For years I needed to be super careful about what I ate and drank. I wore regular eyeglasses. I noticed that if I consumed caffeine or too much salt, my diplopia worsened. It also worsened when I’d eat anything with MSG (monosodium glutamate) in it. (Remember, this is before MSG was the health concern that it is today. In fact, it was sold in the spice section of grocery stores. I loved the stuff and was disheartened when I realized I could not eat it. 😦 ) I noticed that when my hormones were unbalanced, so was my diplopia. As time as progressed, I find it very interesting that whenever I have told an eye professional like a M.D. or D.O. (or whatever the initials for an optometrist are) about the effects of foods and/or hormones on my diplopia (and there have been many times)….they find it entertaining and treat it lightly. They cannot believe anything like that effects my condition. Hmm…I wonder if a naturopath or acupuncturist would. ?? Just curious.

I didn’t know about eye glass prisms until 8 years ago. I don’t know if prisms existed back in the late 1970’s. I wasn’t made aware of them if they were. They’re great. I can see straight. That is until about six months ago. My diplopia has affected all of my visual fields. Now…I see double even while wearing my glasses. And, my prism cannot get much stronger.

The diagnosis…after the completion of my eye exam, my ophthalmologist told me I have a nerve palsy of the nerve surrounding my cerebellum.. As she described the nerve, it was perfectly aligned with where my head injury occurred. I was impressed. Impressed, yet scared. Suddenly I have a palsy. Isn’t it funny how you can live with a condition for so long and just learn to deal with it and suddenly when it’s given a name ….it’s viewed differently? I find that interesting, anyways.

So..instead of wearing glasses that will look abnormal and accentuate my vision defect, I am going to have the surgery. I thought I wasn’t vain, but I don’t want to wear glasses with tape and stripes across the entire lens. My diplopia has reached the point where I want it fixed. I just want to see straight (or as straight as possible) when I open my eyes in the morning. Plus, I want the headaches and overall tiredness to stop. Eye problems are a physiological strain upon the body.
So…that’s the scoop. Thanks for reading.

Hope this helps anyone else going through the same thing.

Find interesting? Kindly share…

Bookmark and Share

6 Responses

  1. hey marie
    interesting!!! wow when will you get surgery? eye surgeries have come along way on what they do. i don’t blame you for giving this a shot. i am sure all will go fine. keep us posted. god bless you.

  2. Well, gee…I’m wondering how I missed this post the other day! I usually check in here every day to catch up………I don’t have double vision…..unless I take off my glasses, but then it’s pretty much no vision. My left eye is really bad…and I can’t even watch TV without my glasses…..so I’ve learned to wear them every waking moment. I hate them, but I tried contacts without success……and I used to be very vain about the glasses…..not anymore! I’d rather see….lol

    I had to have some exams last summer because glaucoma runs in my family, but everything was a-okay……I just have a little higher pressure than what is considered “normal”…..but “we’ll keep close watch on that” the Dr said.

    Keep us posted!

    Debi

  3. Thanks Sharon & Debi,
    You two rock! I’ll keep you posted…

  4. I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  5. I can relate to the diplopia…. Four years ago I had my first eye muscle surgery, this surgery gave me double vision, prisms don’t work for me & trying to convince these arrogant opthamologist that I need another surgery is like pulling teeth… I wish they’d understand that some of us know what we see….. Any suggestions on how I can eliminate the sight of my right eye… Getting desperate, and wasting my time with these doctore won’t help….. Dave davtpt@hotmail.com

  6. I’ve had several head injuries, with one leaving me in a coma for three weeks and paralyzed a muscle in my left eye.
    I’ve had two surgeries and the last one really messed up my eyes. Prizim wont help at all because the double vision changes each time I move my head in the slightest way.
    Now I stagger around and feel like I’m in a house of mirrors.
    People have always made fun of me because I have to do things differently than they do.
    I served in the Army for 8 years and had to leave the Army due to the double vision. It was aggervated by another head injury I received while in the Army.
    I oftentimes have to wear a patch.

Leave a Reply

