• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

For My Cold Weather TKR Friends

Here’s the scoop for my cold weather tkr friends…While recuperating from a tkr, I learned about how convenient flannel-lined satin pajamas were. Even when my recuperation first started, and I couldn’t switch positions, I found that the sliding ability of satin worked well. So…I wrote a post about it.

After having searched everywhere for new pajamas, I was running out of luck and patience. No manufacturer seems to make that variety anymore. Then, as luck would have it, I ran into a former lingerie Sales Manager at my local department store. Here’s the scoop….

The pajamas are technically known as “brush back satin”. I finally had a name for them! It is satin that is lined (“backed”) with flannel. It turns out that the pajamas are not manufactured on a regular basis but on a sporadic basis (if at all, any more). “Those pajamas were so popular”, she said. “We only received so many throughout the cold weather season, though. Then, we wouldn’t receive anymore for a long time. People were always asking about them,” the former sales manager told me.

Since I’m tired of being frustrated while searching department stores, I called my fabric store to check out the possibility of buying the same type of fabric. (I used to sew all my clothes in my younger days. 🙂 )Yes, the fabric is made. The material is called “flannel-backed satin”. It averages $10 a yard. So…that breaks down to about $30-40 for a comfy pair of pj’s. Hmm.. That’s just the material, too. I’ll check out the fabric store tomorrow and get the total scoop.

The comfort from being able to slide easily in bed without experiencing excess pain and/or discomfort is well worth the extra cost, in my opinion.

Hope this helps others going through the same thing.

Find interesting? Kindly share….

Bookmark and Share

One Response

  1. I have a set of “Cuddl-duds” top and pants for winter……..they are very lightweight, a sort of flannel-like on the inside, smooth on the outside and they are perfect for sleeping, and also under clothes during cold weather….although I use them only for sleeping or around the house under sweats.

    It’s pretty cold here these days, but I can’t wear too many layers b/c I get hot too easily….(age)…..so I have blankets handy when I’m sitting still……

    Spring can’t get here soon enough for me!!!!

Leave a Reply

