• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • April 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Benefits of Early Morning Walking & TKR

Part of recuperating from a tkr involves learning how to walk again. We start out slow to gradually retrain our muscles and build up our strength. Sometimes, it is downright tiring. However..it is worth it. Here are some of the benefits of going for an early morning walk. At least they work for me, so I’m hoping they work for you as well…

Hear the chirping birds communicating with each other.
See the deer out for their early morning stroll.
Watch the deer graze on the neighbor’s rose bushes. (That’s especially entertaining..:) )

Finally see the elusive neighborhood pheasant. All last year I heard him, but never caught a glimpse.
First, he calls out. Then, as I follow the call, I finally spot him. He’s gorgeous. Just gorgeous. He’s
pecking on my neighbors grass. He likes to hang out on my neighbor’s backyard cliff and just take
in the scenery. It’s fun to watch him.

No cars are on the road. Nice. Words cannot describe how nice that is.
The sun is rising. There is a beautiful landscape to behold.
The wind is rustling through the trees.
Breathe in the fresh air.
Watch the flowers open up.
Watch the birds engage in squabbles and territorial right maneuvers. Entertaining. 🙂
Work up a sweat to start the day in a healthy manner.

Just a few reasons to start the day walking.
THE END

Gotta go get my exercise in before settling in to watch Game 7 between Red Wings & Coyotes. Yikes…

3 Responses

  1. Hi…glad to see things are going so well with your TKR! Also, the story about the woman who wanted to do yoga after her TKR was very inspiring. Makes me want to work harder to do better.

    Monique

    • Thanks, Monique. It’s always nice to receive such positive feedback. 🙂 Glad I could be of help.

    • Honey its a real challenge. Even though after about 5 weeks in my therapy I had 135% flexion which is perfect. I still have pain when I walk and my leg goes numb too but the Dr. tells me thats coming from my back. I fell which is the reason for my replacement and now my other knee needs replaced. I agree, getting out and seeing Gods beautiful creations is a huge plus! God Bless everyone and good luck in your endeavers to get moving again whatever they may be. P.S. I’m always looking for good advice to help me out. I deplore stairs! Any good ideas to help me in that challenge since I live in a 2 story house plus basement?

Leave a Reply

