• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
    Donna Hill on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

After Effects of a Fractured C-1

Here is an excerpt from my upcoming book. Thought you may enjoy…

I am a firm believer in mind over matter. There are, however, some situations where this does not seem to apply. Or, if it does, I cannot figure out how. The physicalities overrule the mental aspect. Here are a few that apply to my fracturing my C-1 35 years ago….

A C-1 is the first cervical vertebrae. When fractured, it can easily lead to paralysis. Well, luckily, I have not been paralyzed. There are other after effects of the injury that I’ve been living with, though.

It is painful for me to move my neck to look straight up. It seems to pinch a nerve. This is not only uncomfortable and painful, but causes me to lose my balance. When looking up at say – an air show -, I need to brace my head with one of my hands. The discomfort is too immense, otherwise.

I am unable to reach over my head, look up and do activities like clean. Can’t say I really am sad about that. (My attempt at a joke). It is also difficult to change light bulbs in ceiling or overhead lights. Volleyball can be trying. Painting ceilings is very difficult.

Ladders and I do not get along. I do not use them. Loss of balance is too risky for me, especially if I have to look up. Even step stools may not cut it.

Combine all of this with my double vision that is a result of a closed head injury, and there are limitations I must face daily.

It could be much worse, though. For that, I am truly grateful.

Find interesting? Kindly share…

Bookmark and Share

One Response

  1. 2009/March, I had a TKR (right knee) I went through all the usual feelings including the depression and all the stretching and rehab along with pain and I was so looking forward to being mobile again.
    2010/March, I had to have the Achilles Tendon disconnected so the surgeon could get to the huge bone spur that came out the back of my heel and remove it. The tip of it has also broken off. The spur was grinding away at the Achilles Tendon so the tendon had to be repaired and reattached. Again I’m immobile. It has been now 8 weeks of which 6 weeks were spent in a wheelchair. I’m now allowed to walk with a boot. Nobody told me how painful that would be when first attempted. Now two weeks into partial weight bearing then full weight bearing and I can almost tolerate a full day of being on it but for the swelling which causes me to have to elevate it. I still use a crutch occasionally.

Leave a Reply

