• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

TKR Sleeping Update

Hi everyone. Just thought I’d share some news. I’m doing research about total knee replacement, tkr, and came across something that just cracks me up. One site I visited lists a variety of benefits to having the surgery. One of the benefits listed is…I’m not kidding…”undisturbed sleep”. HAH!! We all know that takes MONTHS to achieve. That’s not mentioned in the article. (Wonder why?)

After I stopped laughing so hard and snorting (did I say that?), I just had to get on here and share this finding with you. Hopefully, you’ll be as entertained as I was. That’s my hope, anyways.

Enjoy! Hope everyone is doing the best they can!

Find interesting? Kindly share…

Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

  1. That’s crazy! I thought I was doing well when I slept for 4 hours uninterpreted!
    My challenge is that for 5 months prior to my TKR, I slept sitting up.It was the only way I could be sure that my knee wouldn’t pop in the middle of the night. So I’m in the process of re-training my self to sleep lying down. It’s not easy! I used to sleep on my stomach, but I think those days are gone forever. Now I start out on my (right) side with a wedge between my knees. Two hours later, I wake up and turn to my back. 2 hours later I wake up and sit up for the rest of the night/morning…usually another 4 hours, if I’m lucky. I think I’d be scared if I woke up and found I slept a solid 8 hours! LOL!

  2. What sleep? I’ve not enjoyed that yet at least not a whole night of undisturbed sleep.

  3. This is an interesting question! With my first TKR (right knee 12/09) I slept like a log taking Hydrocodone. Since my second TKR (3/10) I have a horrible time getting comfortable even with the same pain medication, and wake up every hour or so all through the night. I have aches in my knees, calves, lower back and shoulders. I still can’t sleep on my side with or without a pillow between my knees. I’ve tried and end up in pain which takes a while to ease. It seems like it is worse on therapy days… probably pushing too hard. Last night had a bit of relief by taking 800 mg. of ibuprofen at midnight. I’m hoping that will continue help!
    THANK YOU for your great blog! Your help and encouragement and “community” have encouraged me and answered lots of questions I’ve had through the past 6 months… and keep spurring me on to keep going on therapy on my own after the official PT is over. Thanks again!

  4. Thanks for your comments. My TKR was 7 days ago, I cannot get a straight answer about what to expect to be able to do in what time frames. I am walking with a walker about an hour a day total. I have not met the PT yet so I do not have exercises to do. In the hospital where I was for 3 days they told me to rotate my ankles and bend my feet and walk with my walker. This all seemed important for circulation but not for joint mobility or full flexibility. Should I try to walk without the walker?

    • Hi Kathlene, I think you’re really rushing it to walk without the walker at just 7 days out. Your home therapist should come VERY SOON, if not, be sure to let your surgeon know that no one has come to work with you. He/she will give you exercises to do, as well as have you do heel slides, etc. while he is there.
      A second site that has also been a GREAT help to me is bonesmart.org… (the patient forums). You do not need to be a member to read the comments, only to add comments.

Leave a Reply

