• Hoping that August will bring good health, safety, and prosperity to you. Keep improving!

  • “If You Want Someone To Trust..Trust Yourself” Bob Dylan

  • I’m not a medical pro, On whose advice you should heed, So please beware that, What works for me, May not be what you need (aka Waiver of Liability)

  • Copyright Information: All information on this blog site is copyrighted and protected. Any unauthorized duplication is illegal and will be dealt with appropriately.

  • Hire Me!

    If you've been impressed with my writing on this blog, and are in need of a writer to advance you to the next stage...kindly click on the "Hire Me and Contact Me" page above for more information. Thanks! MarieB
  • Stipulations

    This site does not contain advertising nor accept any paid advertising. This site has no funding sources and is not searching for any. There are no paid link exchanges on this site. The links I list are my personal favorites, with no monetary involvement. All the information about my total knee replacement surgery is written by me is via my personal experience. I am not receiving compensation from any organization for anything I write on this blog.
  • Confidentiality of data

    Your personal data is held in strict confidence. No email addresses will be shared. I value your privacy. Any comments you make on this site will be available for all readers to see. Once you post a comment on this site, it cannot be modified or erased by you.
  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    CarlosTed on A TKR Forum worth checking…
    Marie B on One Year Post TKR Update
    Cynthia Brooks on One Year Post TKR Update
    Sadie Lipsey on 7 Ways to Speed Up Your Knee R…
    Nancy on Does Your Total Knee Replaceme…
  • July 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • My Tweets

  • BLOGROLL – Pardon..In Progress

  • Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
  • Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory
  • Ebook sites I’m listed with…


    Where authors and readers come together!

Babying My Non-TKR Knee

It’s happening. Yikes. I wrote previously about how my “good” knee is showing signs of wear and tear. I’ve had other readers mention the same thing. Now…I find myself doing things like I used to do with my former “bad” knee….Before I start, let me say that I am grateful for everything I have. I know it could be much worse. I am not feeling sorry for myself. I am very blessed to have two legs, etc….

I walk up and down stairs one at a time on many days. That used to be the technique for my “bad” knee. Sometimes stairs are too much to handle. I don’t go outside.

As much as I may believe that it’s mind over matter, I wonder how this applies to arthritis. My “good” knee is exhibiting symptoms of developing arthritis. I don’t know how thoughts can control that. Do you?

I do not go up and down steep hills like I used to do for exercise purposes. My “good” knee becomes inflamed and painful far too easily afterwards.

The crunching is getting louder and louder. That’s just downright creepy.

Depending upon the day, etc…my knee can slightly swell after exertion along the perimeters of my kneecap.

My knee joint can become painful just by applying weight on it. It doesn’t happen all the time, but it does happen.

My knee is beginning to not look or feel like a “normal” (I don’t like using the word normal, but I don’t know what else applies here) knee from the outside. That’s creepy.

(As I’m writing this, I’m hearing an 18-year old singing to “Dancing in the Streets” by David Bowie. How cool is it to see and hear music transcending age groups? Too cool…)

Back to my story…

It’s been 2 years and 5 months since my tkr and I do not want to go through another one. I don’t and I won’t.

Hope this helps others going through the same thing…

Find interesting? Kindly share…

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses

  1. So sorry you’re realizing the same pain with your other knee! Not a fun condition!
    When I had my left knee done in November, I knew I would eventually have to have the right knee replaced also. I just wish now I would have had them both done at the same time! Early into the rehab process, my PT designated my left (TKR) knee as my “good” knee! I never was able to use the exercise bike for rehab or exercise because of the way the bone-on-bone action is…it really hurts and will pop out.
    Although the cortisone shots are still serving me well, I have a hard time carrying my grandson…that will cause the sharp pain in my knee quicker than anything…and I haven’t gone up & down steps the “normal” way in so many years, I’m not sure I remember how! LOL!
    I know I’ll have to have another TKR sooner or later…hopefully later. A little like childbirth, the rigor of the whole process dims with time. Actually, the only part now that seems so bad was my day and a half of drug induced mania! I had a bad reaction to the Delaudid (sp?) and did things like got out of bed the day after my surgery without help, torn out an IV port, and pretty generally didn’t know where I was. When I did come around, I was so, so sick! So I figure if I can get the pain management part down, I can stand the rest.
    And I wonder…what would it be like to walk normally again? Hmm…
    (And speaking of music trnascending age groups: I’m 62 and listing to The Fratellis. Goes both ways! )

  2. Ah, Marie……I’m having some of those same problems now….but I definitely NOT considering TKR on my right knee for a very, very long time!

    I’m having more trouble with arthritis in other joints, so I’m concentrating on those right now….my right thumb is very painful as well as my elbow and my left shoulder!

    I joked the other day that I feel like I’m being held together by duct tape and bubble gum!

    Debi

  3. Mr. Brian Troughton, UK

    My troubles began when my left leg started to go stiff and to hurt. The doctor told me it was arthritis. The waiting list on the national health was nine to 12 months, so it had to be private. Private in England means big money. So I had to shop around. The first lead we found on the computer was a private company that was sending people to India. For the said operation this company was contacted. But at the end of the pay the price on the computer and the price they wanted to charge me was about 1100 pounds more than they were advertising. So one needs to look into things before signing up. Once again we went back to the computer and came across Dr. So we made contact with the doctor and agreed on a price for the full package- accommodation, food, surgery and physio. We were met at the airport and taken to the hospital.

    The physio staff called twice a day to ensure you were making good progress. After I was discharged from hospital, I stayed at a holiday resort which was recommended by Dr. It was first class the manager and staff were A1. The doctor also arranged for another doctor to visit me three times at the resort to keep an eye and the progress of my knees. I also saw our physio twice. My friend Stephen came with me to be of any help he could. It made my life and recovery so much easier, a help above any call of friendship. He will always have my thanks. My colleague was also very impressed with the way everything went. The overall cost was about a quarter of the cost of getting it done in England, and that includes the airfare. I would recommend anyone the hospital and DR. to help improve their quality of life. Keep up the good work, come up and it was a pleasure and privilege to have met you all.

    Thanks for everything, I’m so glad that I spoke to you and found such a wonderful knee replacements treatment.

Leave a Reply

